Creative Ely

Further to my post on the city of Ely (‘What makes a place creative? The case of Ely‘, 14 March), last week I finally made it along to the local networking group called Creative Ely. 

Since I don’t actually come from Ely, I did wonder whether I’d be turfed out. But members seemed willing to accept me on the grounds that there isn’t a Creative Newmarket (that begin the town I live closest to). Neither, I think, is there likely to be any time soon.

I’m glad to report that Creative Ely is a genuinely multidisciplinary network. I met   creatives of many different types, including a poet, some painters, an animator, a film guy, a photographer, and a book designer. 

Details of the group, including forthcoming events, are available here with a poster, designed by Peter Jackson, here.

Please add your response

