Managing the emergent: hubs and how to handle them

I’m very pleased to reblog this post from Tim Horton’s blog. I’ve only just discovered the blog and find it very sympathetic indeed. I doubt that regular readers of Monographer will find it difficult to see why I like the blog. I particularly like in this post the exploratory analysis (notably behind the question, “Why do we need a vibrant anything?”). I’m also very sympathetic to the view that we should fully acknowledge creativity beyond the arts – a point I hope to blog on further in the near future.

tim horton_ blog

Even as a mobile workaholic, June is not generally when I feel the itch to work outside, so it was counter intuitive of the state government to hold the ‘Peel St Festival’ on a cold wet day to celebrate ‘co-working’ with its new flagship, Hub Adelaide. I know the Hub Adelaide guys. I think it’s crucial Hub Adelaide works. I’ve spent time in its sister franchise, Hub Sydney. I’m ‘pro-hub’ even if what follows is a curious kind of ‘pro’. And so I dropped in on this Festival of co-working, only to find something much deeper being played out. Something that goes to the role of government in city activation, and what it takes for non government to flourish.

Hub Sydney

A lot has been written about the government’s $1m funding for Hub Adelaide, and the unintended consequence it had on Format Collective; a not-for-profit hub for local musicians…

View original post 1,043 more words

Please add your response

