Noticing such things

Each year the county I live in, Cambridgeshire, has a month of open studios. At the weekends. local artists open their studios to the public. The scheme is very attractive: it provides a means to discover who’s around – I’m amazed at the number and variety of artists hidden away in the backstreets of Cambridge and surrounding villages – and to see their work and discuss it with the artists. I look forward to it every year.

This year may favourite visit was to the studio of Melanie Goemans, an artist I hadn’t discovered before. Her statement on her website evokes her work well:

I work in old media (oil paint, etching, aquatint) with the challenge of making work that is relevant now yet retains high levels of craftsmanship. Paring down the techniques I had been using, line has become essential to my visual language and drawing has become a vital element. In a world of geometric constructions I seek my subject matter in the spaces between the man-made. I wish to draw attention to something that generally might be overlooked; to make permanent the unpredictable natural forms that become absent through their constantly changing state. 

Hers is a beautifully quiet, subtle, provincial art evoking a sense of transience and of receptiveness. It felt very English and somehow akin to poetry. I could well imagine her work accompanying the poetry of Philip Gross, for example. Or Edward Thomas.

5 Responses to “Noticing such things”

  1. Anthony,
    Thank you for this wonderful response. I am going to share it on my own blog: http://www.melaniegoemans.com/blog/
    Also, thank you for visiting my studio and for the discussion esp. re. book illustration that really does interest me.
    Melanie

  2. Well, please keep me in mind for future publications!
    Again, thanks.
    Melanie

Please add your response

