How to holiday: take a notebook

By Anthony Haynes

August 7, 2013

Category: Beyond publishing

2 Comments »

The fourth of ten posts, published each work day, on the rules I set myself to create a successful holiday. The rules work for me: I hope they’re of some use to readers to. But they won’t suit everybody. You’re v. welcome to let me know how it’s different for you – and what your own rules might be.

My fourth ‘rule’ is very simple. In my previous post I wrote that I discerned a kind of cycle: “In fact, I find there is a kind cycle. It takes a day or so to relax. Then one really settles in and begins to relish the holiday”. My fourth rule – Take notebook! – derives from that point. 

Right at the start of the holiday, I have very few creative ideas. My mind is still preoccupied. And as the holiday progresses I usually become too relaxed to think creatively. But in between there is a shortish, somewhat elusive period, where insights bubble up in a series gestalt-like moments of vision.

The problem is, if I don’t write them down, I forget them. Which is why I need a notebook at the ready.

It’s a bit like writing your dreams down as soon as you wake up.

2 Responses to “How to holiday: take a notebook”

  1. I bring a journal on my vacations to memorialize the things we do and note both the things we want to try again and the stuff we should avoid. It’s also great for capturing any number of new ideas. Great suggestion.

Please add your response

